Uninstallation Instructions

Last updated: 25 April 2014

This page list uninstallation instructions for each of our games.

Solstrike

There are 4 parts to a Solstrike installation. The Launcher, The Cache Folder, The Consent File, and Your Save Game File. Each of these is described in more detail below.
  • The Launcher. This is the program you download from our website to play the game. To remove this just delete 'solstrike.exe' from the location which you originally downloaded it to. If you do this you will no longer be able to start the game (unless you redownload the launcher from our website).

  • The Cache Folder. Solstrike caches files required to run the game on your disk. This is to avoid having to re-download them every time you start the game. To view the cache folder:

    • Press Windows+R to open the 'Run' dialog.
    • If you are running Windows Vista, 7 or 8: Type %localappdata% into the run dialog and press 'ok'. This will open the Local AppData folder.
    • If you are running Windows XP: Type "%homepath%\Local Settings\Application Data" into the run dialog and press 'ok'. This will open the Local AppData folder.
    • You should then see a folder called 'Fen Research', open this folder.
    • You should then see a folder for each game we produce. The Solstrike cache is stored in the 'games.solstrike' folder.

    Important: Solstrike automatically verifies its cache folder for correctness each time it is started. Therefore deleting the cache is very unlikely to fix a bug or make the game work more reliably. This means you should only delete the cache if you no longer wish to play the game.

    If you wish to fully uninstall Solstrike you may delete the 'games.solstrike' folder. If you subsequently decide to run the launcher it will automatically redownload and recreate the cache. Therefore if you wish the cache to remain deleted do not run the launcher after deleting the cache!

  • The Consent File. Solstrike remembers that you have agreed to our terms+conditions and privacy policy (and which version you agreed to), by storing a consent file on your computer. This is to avoid having to ask you to agree to them every single time you start the game. To view the consent file:

    • Press Windows+R to open the 'Run' dialog.
    • type %appdata% into the run dialog and press 'ok'. This will open the Roaming AppData folder.
    • You should then see a folder called 'Fen Research', open this folder.
    • The consent file for Solstrike is located in this folder and is called 'games.solstrike.consent'.

    If you wish to fully uninstall Solstrike you may delete the games.solstrike.consent file. If you subsequently decide to run the launcher it will ask you again to agree to the terms+conditions and privacy policy, and will then recreate the consent file.

  • Your Save Game File. Your save game file is used to indicate to our servers which save game data to use. This is used to store your progress, achievements, and preferences in Solstrike.

    You must keep this file safe, and not share it with anyone else! If you share this file with someone you will irreversibly be giving them access to play using your account, and to use and modify your save games. This is a very bad idea, and is also prohibited by our terms & conditions.

    To view your save game file:

    • Press Windows+R to open the 'Run' dialog.
    • Type %appdata% into the run dialog and press 'ok'. This will open the Roaming AppData folder.
    • You should then see a folder called 'Fen Research', open this folder.
    • Your save game file for Solstrike is located in this folder and is called 'games.solstrike.save_game'.

    You may backup the games.solstrike.save_game file if you wish. (i.e so you don't lose your save game if your computer breaks).

    If you wish to fully uninstall Solstrike you may delete the games.solstrike.save_game file. Warning: If you delete this file, you will permanently and irreversibly lose your save game, and all your achievements and progress in this game. Do not delete this file unless you are sure you never want to play again! If you subsequently decide to run the launcher a new save game file will be produced, and the game will begin again from the start.